An Abundance of Birds

Standard

This morning, as the breeze blew away the last remnants of storm clouds, and the sun attempted a watery appearance, a little bird hopped into my open doorway to inspect me. This has happened before. Last summer a curious titmouse came in to say hello, and of course immediately and zoomed around in panic until it found the door again. Today’s cheerful little fellow was not a titmouse, so he seemed to have the sense to look at me from the doorway and then hop out again. He was not a bird I recognised, small brown and white body with an up-tilted tail and a curving beak.  Looking it up I found that it was a house wren.
This is the time of year for spotting birds. All have returned from their winter vacations, but the trees haven’t got any leaves yet, so there’s nothing to obscure the view. I’ve always loved birds. As a homeschooler I even talked my mom into doing a whole unit on birds, and I learned every species in our Colorado back yard. There are a lot more species in this “yard”. Our acreage, while not remote, is definitely deep in the country. One of my favorite things is to sit quietly in the mornings with the door open and watch (and listen to) the birds. Until this week it was definitely too cold to have the door open!
Over the winter there were several birds I watched out the window. I love the bright Cardinals, spots of brilliant red against the snow and trees. Blue jays chased and called back and forth across the field. I even got to see our Golden Eagle up close while walking through the woods with my dad.
Adam and I were perplexed at huge chunks torn out of several of our trees. The one morning we saw the rare and Large Pileated woodpecker. About 18″ with a red crest, it magnificently shredded some of our dead trees over the winter. As a bonus, it was easy to photograph, since it was big and held fairly still.

DSCN5340
Then, two weeks ago, Blue Birds arrived. Brilliant blue with red bellies, they darted around the trailer and picked early bugs out of the grass. Soon after I learned to identify Phoebes, cheerful little grey birds who like to sit on a bare limb and bop their tails. Canada geese called in the afternoons, stopping at nearby lakes on the way home.
Merlins and Turkey Vultures followed. Many people are suspicious of vultures, but they are some of my favorites. They circle over warm updrafts for hours at a time, their huge wings stretched joyously. They rival the eagles in size, and are much less suspicious of people. (And no, they don’t want to eat you. Adam.)
This week, everyone seems to be in place for spring. Curious titmice, diligent sparrows, woodpeckers, finches, chickadees, towhees, and my little wren this morning. The din in the morning is incredible.

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

